h1

New Tea has been picked

March 31, 2009


It’s been more than two years since I came to China and things have dramatically changed. I don’t know if I should go into details but it’s been really hard to buy new tea this year because Chinese are not eager to make business with “small” foreigners like me. They asked me if I have plans to do whole sale and to buy big quantities but I tell them that I prefer buy quality instead… only then we could start talking.

I spent the last 10 days from one city to another trying to avoid bad weather aiming at the teafield. I’ve been successful today and therefore have decided to post this blog.

I’m in Hangzhou, the source of Long Jing tea, a sort of green tea that has slightly been roasted and flattend by hand. There are many sorts of Long Jing and in various qualities. The highest grade is the Xi Hu Long Jing named by the west lake in Hangzhou. This Long Jing has been harvested now and its price is very high. How to recognise a good Long Jing tea? The leaves are green, slightly yellow, it gows down faster in water when the water has the right temperature and has a slight taste of lichee. Some say that this tea taste even better 6 months later. I have had the pleasure not to say the honour to taste some of the new tea and have decided to bring some back to satify the conoisseurs or those who want to drink exquisite tea.

Today, I also went to the International Tea Museum. It was extremely interesting to be introduced to the tea making process in different regions as well as the amasing tea culture around it. Recently, I saw a documentary about the government of China supporting a lot of counties to plant tea trees to increase the production. There are also more and more organic tea coming up.

The one that I bought has even a Switzerland IMO organic certification sharing all EU standards. For more than 20 years, IMO has been active in the field of organic certification but it is also an expert in the sectors of sustainable forestry and social accountability monitoring.

Well, I think I’ve given you an small taste of what it feels like to be here and hope you enjoyed this few lines. I hope to see you comments very soon!

7 comments

  1. Thank you for this interesting update. Hope the quality will be more powerful than quantity (for most subjects!). Cheers, S.


  2. Nihau Cindy!
    Great stories! When are you planning to introduce Taiwanese tea from the region of Taichung? I sat through many afternoon tea rituals with my Taiwanese boss at the time! Such a difference with the rat race we’re in overhere. Cheers, Robert


  3. Hi Cindy – thanks for the update on your tea-searching trip! When we visited China we also saw
    Hanzhou and went to a tea village described as Dragon Well Tea Village. the tea offered was exquisite and rather expensive…
    Good luck with the new venture/tea selection!
    See you soon!
    Marion/Marianne


  4. > Chinese are not eager to make business with “small” foreigners like me…

    A small foreigner you are! 😉
    But they should feel honoured by the presence of such great company…


  5. Hi Cindy,
    I am a bit surprised to read that the tea harvest period is now (march). I do not know where in China is Hangzou but is this period not shortly after their winter?
    Take care and looking forward to your next info.
    By,by and x x x


  6. Great to read you are back in China!
    Bye,
    Astrid


  7. Hi Cindy,
    Following your comments with interest and enjoy China !



Leave a Reply

